Blueberrytalk's Weblog

Everything connected to growing blueberries

Tobia and her brothers

Posted by blueberrytalk on January 9, 2011

Tobia breeds goats, milks goats and facilitates goat milking contests for city cousins. Sometimes goats don’t cooperate with what you want and it looks like it’s the same with brothers. Here is the story as Tobia tells it.

Pizza was for dinner, a naturally treasured meal, accompanied by an unnamed stringy green vegetable, a natural thing to be avoided by most people.

I had hardly taken a few bites when I heard that plaintive cry, Phinehas had woken up. My brothers usually had a bad sense of timing, but Finn (Phin) had the worst.  He liked to wake up during mealtimes and was fond of doing loud or odorous diaper filling in silent public places, such as airplanes, libraries and churches.

I picked him up, and Mum took him.  Mum typically took Finn at dinner, not that I’m complaining.

I looked over at Finn, now sitting comfortably on Mum’s lap-prince of the house that he is.  He was blowing bubbles…through his nose.  His pudgy hand reached out to prod the unnamed vegetables, and he pinched his little face as if to say Yuck! Why do you eat this stuff!

Like I said, he had the worst timing; he could at least wait until we were done eating before reminding us of the food we try so hard to forget.

After some time the prince of the house decided it was time for a change…literally!

This time the dirty job landed on Perren- and I had the equally dirty job of teaching him how.

I can’t really blame Perren for not wanting the job, but the dialogue that followed was annoying.

“Now, take off the diaper…”

“You do it, I’ll hold the legs.”

“No.  Take off the diaper.”

“You do it, I’ll hold the legs.”

Then Later:

“Now, wipe it…”

“You do it, I’ll hold the legs.”

“Nooo! Seriously! Wipe it!”

“Here, you do it, I’ll hold the legs.”

This lesson continued for about ten minutes, with different teachers.  Perren did not want to change that diaper.

5 Responses to “Tobia and her brothers”

  1. Unnamed witness to story said

    I am an unnamed witness to this story (I am not Perren) and I would like to clarify on a few things. Firstly, Phinehas’ diaper fillings are never odorous (Hallejulah!). However, they are loud…which is pretty funny. It sounds like a bear farting into a tuba. So when you hear that in the middle of a church survice, (and never smell anything) you can do nothing but laugh. Another thing that should be brought to attention was the diaper changing incident. I was an onlooker during the dispute, and while it was a bit humourous, I had to admit that Tobia definately needed some lessons on how to give lessons. Perren was uncooperative, and Tobia’s lack of communication and impatience didn’t exactly help him out. And poor Finn was a victim in all of it, getting teary while lying on the change table while watching an argument.

    • hold on a minute said

      There is good reason to beleive that “I am not Perren” is in fact Perren, writing under the nom de plume “Unnamed Witness To Story.”

      • Ayden said

        There is also good reason to believe that Dad (who replied to the first comment) does not know what he’s talking about. Perren actually asked me to write this in his defence…but even if he didn’t I probably would have. I’m actually Ayden. The third kid. Phinehas’s older brother. So DAD…just lay off Perren. I’m the one writing this.

      • The Real Ayden said

        P.S. To tell the truth Ayden did not write that (the above ‘Ayden said’).
        Sincerely,
        Ayden

  2. Misty the dog said

    @ Ayden
    Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight

Leave a Reply

 
